NORTHWOODS REGIONAL NEWS: Florence County, Forest County, Langlade County, Marinette County, Menominee County, Menomonie County, Oconto County,  Shawano County

Elijah Behnke wins State Assembly District 89 over Karl Jaeger


(WFRV) – All of the votes are counted for the State Assembly District 89 seat. 

Karl Jaeger and Elijah Behnke were the two candidates on the ballot for the April 6 election. 

The winner who got the most votes is Elijah Behnke.  


As an Oconto native, Behnke’s parents owned 15 acres on County J in the heart of the district which helped him learn how to operate farm equipment, instilling responsibility in him at an early age and aided him in creating his own cleaning company with insight from his mother. 

One of the main reasons that made Behnke run was the effects the COVID-19 pandemic had on his business and to stand up for other business owners and workers. 

Behnke tells Tom Zalaski in Newsmaker Sunday he will fight every day to make sure you and your family succeed. 

“I was not the big money candidate, I had no political experience and I took them down swinging. People saw our team put the most effort into this race. I was jogging to 100 houses per day. Hard work pays off and it’s that Wisconsin work ethic that will do me well in Madison,” says Behnke in a released statement. 

For more information about Behnke click here

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Coronavirus News

More Coronavirus

Trending Stories

Your Local Election HQ

More Election

Local Sports

Appleton's AJ Powell gets Masters experience at Drive, Chip, & Putt

High School Volleyball Regionals: Appleton North girls, boys advance

HS Football: De Pere ends Bay Port's 38-game conference win streak, full Friday highlights

One-on-one with Green Bay United state swimming champ Brigitta Neverman

Titans taking advantage of opportunities during spring

Kimberly's Lucky Wurtz retires as head boys basketball coach