Wisconsin farmers eligible for emergency loans due to disaster declaration

Midwest Farm

Frost, courtesy: Brad Birkolz

(WFRV) – Farmers who lost crops due to the freeze in the spring are included in a USDA Secretarial natural disaster declaration.  The specific disaster declaration covers freezing events that occurred from May 5 through May 30.

Producers in Jackson, Langlade, Marathon, Walworth, Kenosha, Lincoln, and Trempealeau can apply for emergency loans to be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Meanwhile, those who farm in contiguous counties may also be eligible for assistance. Those counties include Buffalo, Juneau, Oneida, Shawano, Clark, La Crosse, Portage, Taylor, Eau Claire, Menominee, Price, Waukesha, Forest, Monroe, Racine, Waupaca, Jefferson, Oconto, Rock, and Wood.

Producers should contact their local USDA Service Center to ask questions or file a notice of loss.

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Coronavirus News

More Coronavirus

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

Your Local Election HQ

More Election

Local Sports

Locker Room: Keys to next season

Inside Skinny

Locker Room: Rodgers, LaFleur, Gary

Locker Room: Packers eliminated from playoffs

HS Sports Xtra: State's top teams roll in FRCC, FVA

Green Bay men oust Detroit at home