FOX VALLEY AREA REGIONAL NEWS: Calumet County, Fond du Lac County, Outagamie County, Winnebago County

Appleton Police officers selected as ‘Top Cop’ winners after heroic efforts during last year’s downtown shooting

Local News

APPLETON, Wis. (WFRV) – Two Appleton Police Officers involved in the downtown Appleton shooting last summer that resulted in the death of Firefighter Mitch Lundgaard have been chosen as recipients of the national “Top Cop” award for their heroic efforts.

According to Appleton Police, Officer Paul Christensen and Sergeant Chris Biese were selected as recipients of the 2020 TOP COPS Awards presented by the National Association of Police Organizations.

The TOP COPS Awards are intended to educate the American public about our nation’s heroes and pay tribute to law enforcement officers in federal, state, county, tribal, and local agencies. The awards highlight those officers for actions above and beyond the call of duty.

TOP COPS are nominated by fellow officers and reviewed by an independent Awards Selection Committee comprised of national law enforcement representatives. The committee selects ten cases from across the nation. Those selected are TOP COPS Award winners.

For previous coverage on the downtown Appleton shooting, click here.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Coronavirus News

More Coronavirus

Trending Stories

Your Local Election HQ

More Election

Local Sports

WPGA Championship wraps up at Green Bay Country Club, Smith shoots 68 to win

HSSPX: Clintonville's Wederath defies blindness to take court

High School Sports Xtra - Area Football Previews

Green and Gold Game Day - Picks and Final Thoughts

Green and Gold Game Day - Live in Minneapolis talking offense

Green and Gold Game Day - Live in Minneapolis talking Packers inactives, defense