Watch the full ceremony in the video above

(WFRV) – For 27 school districts in eastern Wisconsin, this week is a special one as they get ready for the Eastern Wisconsin Excellence in Education awards.

The Eastern Wisconsin Excellence in Education Awards Program is in its inaugural year highlighting educators that go above and beyond for their students and schools. Over the course of a month, the community submitted their nominations under five categories:

  • Innovation in work
  • Culture creator in the work environment
  • Social/emotional well-being
  • Community involvement
  • Student connection

There are three winners for each category – one administrative staff member, one teacher, and one support personnel.

“We need to be champions for them because they’re not going to toot their own horn, we need to toot their horn for them,” said Dr. Brad Ebert, Superintendent for the Kiel School District.

The 27 districts taking part in the honor are:

  • Brillion
  • Campbellsport
  • Cedar Grove Belgium
  • Chilton
  • Elkhart Lake
  • Fond du Lac
  • Hilbert
  • Howards Grove
  • Kiel
  • Kohler
  • Manitowoc
  • Mishicot
  • New Holstein
  • North Fond du lac
  • Oakfield
  • Oostburg
  • Plymouth
  • Random Lake
  • Reedsville
  • Ripon
  • Rosendale-Brandon
  • Sheboygan
  • Sheboygan Falls
  • Stockbridge
  • Two Rivers
  • Valders
  • Waupun

The ceremony honoring the school employees is Saturday, May 14 at 7:00 p.m. at Kiel High School and Local 5’s very own Michele McCormack is the host for the event.

You can watch it live right here on Local 5 Saturday evening.