No call to the Hall for Butler


1 Oct 2000: LeRoy Butler #36 of the Green Bay Packers comes onto the field during the game against the Chicago Bears at Lambeau Field in Green Bay, Wisconsin. The Bears defeated the Packers 27-24.Mandatory Credit: Jonathan Daniel /Allsport

Former Packers safety LeRoy Butler will have to wait at least another year to get the call from the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

On Saturday afternoon Butler tweeted that has missed the cut, and thanked the fans for their support.

Butler has been eligible for the Hall of Fame since 2007, but was a finalist for the first time this year. That’s after being a semifinalist for the last three.

The four time All-Pro safety spent 12 seasons with the Packers, and became synomous with the franchise as the creator of the “Lambeau Leap.” Butler was also the first safety in NFL history with 20 interception, and 20 sacks in a career.

Butler was a big part of the Packers run to a championship in Super Bowl XXXI.

Below is the Modern-Era enshrinees for 2020:

  • S Steve Atwater (Denver Broncos)
  • WR Isaac Bruce (St. Louis Rams – San Francisco 49ers)
  • RB Edgerrin James (Indianapolis Colts – Arizona Cardinals – Seattle Seahawks)
  • S Troy Polamalu (Pittsburgh Steelders)
  • G Steve Hutchinson (Seattle Seahawks – Minnesota Vikings – Tennessee Titans)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Coronavirus News

More Coronavirus

Trending Stories

Your Local Election HQ

More Election

Local Sports

Hallum's hat trick leads Gamblers past Chicago

Conference contenders dominate in girls basketball openers

Phoenix set to begin Will Ryan Era against Minnesota

High School Sports Xtra: Girls Basketball primer, Local 5 Top 5

High School Sports Xtra: Football playoffs wrap up with Level 2

Xtra Point: Level 2 High School Football Playoffs