This is How Matt LaFleur Would Fit into Packers History…

Packers Offer Job to LaFleur
The Packers have offered Matt LaFleur the chance to become the franchise’s 16th head coach, according to multiple reports.
LaFleur spent the past season as the offensive coordinator with the Tennessee Titans, and has made several stops around the NFL as an assistant. That includes time as a quarterbacks coach with the Redskins and Falcons. As well as working with fellow former Washington assistant Sean McVay in Los Angeles with the Rams in 2017.

Prior to the arrival of LaFleur,  three coaches dominated the spotlight in Green Bay over a 27 year time span, with Ray Rhodes surviving only one season in 1999. Mike Holmgren became the 3rd head coach to win a championship in Green Bay, and was the first to accomplish that feat since Vince Lombardi won three straight titles from 1965-1967.  Mike Sherman went 57-39 during the regular season over a six year stretch, but was just 2-4 during the playoffs.  Mike McCarthy was 125-77-2 during the regular season through 13 plus years, but was just 11-16-1 over the final two seasons during his tenure.
There have been 14 head coaches for the Packers franchise prior to this past season, and ever since it was founded in 1919 by Curly Lambeau.  He not only remains the winningest coach in team history, but four different coaches have won NFL championships with the Green Bay Packers.  
Earl Louis “Curly” Lambeau has the most championships with 6 in 1929, 1930, 1931, 1936, 1939, and 1944.
Vince Lombardi  won 5 championships in 1961, 1962, 1965, 1966, and 1967.
Mike Holmgren and Mike McCarthy each won one in 1996 and 2010 respectively.
Lambeau is the franchise leader in career games (334) and career wins (209), while Lombardi has the best winning percentage (.754).  Ray “Scooter” McLean had the worst winning percentage (.077) in 1958, and this years team avoiding being the first one to go winless on the road with their 44-38 overtime victory against the New York Jets on December 23rd.
Four Packers coaches have been elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Lambeau, Lombardi, Bart Starr and Forrest Gregg, but the latter of the two are recognized as players.
Joe Philbin was named interim head coach of the Packers on December 2nd, 2018 and was 3-1 over the final four games of the season. 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Coronavirus News

More Coronavirus

Your Local Election HQ

More Election

Local Sports

High School Sports Xtra: Reader brothers carry on family legacy at FVL

High School Sports Xtra - Local 5 Top 5

High School Sports Xtra - 9/27 Game of the Week, Volleyball Scores

High School Volleyball 9/26 - Luxemburg-Casco, Xavier sweep

Xtra Point - High School Football 9/25

High schools games affected by COVID-19 tests and concerns