A.J. Foyt gets bronze brick at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Big Race - Indy

SPEEDWAY, Ind. (WISH) — Four-time Indianapolis 500 winner A.J. Foyt placed a commemorative brick at the start-finish line of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Thursday.

Three bricks made out of bronze on the line celebration the achievements of Foyt, who won in 1961, 1964, 1967 and 1977. The other two driver who also have won the Indy 500 four times are Al Unser (1970, 1971, 1978, 1987) and Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991).

Foyt said he would not be surprised if another driver comes along and wins four. 

Foyt said, “It would surprise me if there was a five- or six-time winner because the way the cars are and everything else and there’s so much more than when I was running. Back then, you did your own motor work, built your own cars and everything else, so, with the way things are now, it wouldn’t surprise me to see a five-, six- or seven-time winner.”

Bud Tucker, an IMS employee who also happens to be a sculptor, made the bricks. He is a weld shop foreman at the speedway. 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Coronavirus News

More Coronavirus

Trending Stories

Your Local Election HQ

More Election

Local Sports

Valders cross country eyes more success in unprecedented season

High School Sports Xtra 9/20: Fall Preview with Ricardo Arguello

Notre Dame opens with shutout win over Kaukauna

WPGA Championship wraps up at Green Bay Country Club, Smith shoots 68 to win

HSSPX: Clintonville's Wederath defies blindness to take court

High School Sports Xtra - Area Football Previews