The Kimberly Papermakers won their fifth straight title, 27-7 over Sun Prairie, in the Division 1 state title game. In the process, the Papermakers extended the nation’s longest winning streak to 70 straight games.

After an opening drive fumble by quarterback Alec Rosner, the Cardinals capitalized off an 18-yard touchdown pass from Jack Zander to Cooper Nelson, as Sun Prairie took an early 7-0 lead.

From there, the Papermakers defense would hold Sun Prairie in check before running back John Nett was able to breakaway for a 25-yard touchdown run to tie the game at 7 before halftime.

In the second half, the Papermakers would score all three of their touchdowns on the ground as they broke away from Sun Prairie. Running back D.J. Stewart ran for a game-high 189 yards on 34 carries, including 2 touchdowns. This is the second straight state title game where Stewart has scored multiple touchdowns.

Rosner finished the game 3-of-12 passing for 39 yards. Kimberly’s leading receiver was Boyd Dietzen who hauled in a pass for 20 yards.

In winning their fifth straight title, Steve Jones’ record as head coach moves to 87-4 in his tenure at Kimberly. This is also their seventh state title in the last decade.